Which Boots

Speed4341

Im still new to the motorcycle scene and so far have just been wearing leather work boots. It's def time for an upgrade.

I'm trying to decide between the Alpinestar Fast Lane, Alpinestar S-MX1, and TCX X-Cube(water proof) riding boots.
I know Alpinestar has a great reputation and i noticed that these boots both had toe "scrapers" but they are not water proof.
I really like the look of the X-Cubes and though I dont plan on riding in the rain you never know when a storm may pop up.

My main concerns are listed in order of my priority
1. Safety
2. Comfort
3. Styling
4. Longevity
5. Price

Please give me an info you guys have on these and any recommendations are greatly appreciated.

Links to the boots

Fast Lanes- Alpinestars Fastlane Shoes :: MotorcycleGear.com
S-MX 1's- Alpinestars S-MX 1 Boots - 2012 :: MotorcycleGear.com
X-Cube's- TCX X-Cube Waterproof Boots :: MotorcycleGear.com

Thanks, Cameron:rmwl:

Last edited:
I wear touring boots with Gore-Tex liners. Always full length, always as armored as budget allows. I find the touring style (like my current TCX X-Five) are all-day comfortable and great to ride in

Out of the selection you've put up there, I'd say forget your S-MX 1's as they offer minimal safety, aren't comfortable to wear all day off the bike and aren't waterproof...
The TCX boots are going to offer you the best comfort and safety but I prefer to have two sets of boots, 1 to commute/short rides in and the other for track/hitting the twisty's.
Track and twisties- Alpinestars S-MX 5 Vented Boot - RevZilla
They're affordable, comfortable on and off the bike and provide a fair amount of support and safety. Not exactly a dedicated track boot but good for a mix of track and road imo.

For the commute and the fact I wear them while working, I bought these little beauty's - Dainese Technical Sneaker - RevZilla