Possible to Repair (Pics Inside)

Hey all. First time poster, novice rider. I bought a 2001 FZ1 this summer and was having blast until an accident. Needless to say I only had liability on my bike. Along with a rod in my leg, I also now have part of the engine case missing in the side of my bike. Before I take it to the repair shop, I'd like to know if this is something I can repair myself? I have provided pictures for clarification.

Also, (yes I know I'm a noob) can anyone link me some type of diagram so I can at least describe what I'm talking about in technical terms. For example, I know the yamaha logo is the crank case cover, but what area of the engine is the area (see picture) that is most damaged.

Unfortunately there appears to be damage to the engine case, not just the cover so not sure if it can be easily fixed. Also did the engine continue to run w/o any oil? If so there may be some internal damage as well.

Motor not looking too good to me,chain hanging in the air,looking like a right off.but I am no expert so best to get a proper opinion before ordering any parts

Last edited:
OUCH!!!!
Glad you walked away from that one!!!
Well the good news is that the covers are not that expensive. Here are your diagrams. As a rule - Partshark will have your best prices - although shipping time is not always the best.

http://www.partshark.com/fiche_section_detail.asp

Ebay and the classifieds on the forums can also save you a boatload of money. Hopefully the damage is just the covers and not deep. Good luck Bud!

Before I take it to the repair shop, I'd like to know if this is something I can repair myself?

I'm sorry for you.

do you have aluminium welding experience and a machining center?

you may also have valve/piston damage as the timing was abruptly stopped

the frame damage looks repairable but it's not a DIY job

I think you can buy a high mileage gen2 for the price of this repair (done right)

If you dont have teh funds to fix it right go for the part out.