Oil Leak, stripped pan threads

06red

Hi to all, I am looking for some advice. On my first oil change on my fz1 i stripped the oil pan. I bought a replacement oil pan and am looking for advice on how to fix it. I am curious if anyone has done this before and if they can offer any tips and advice. I know i am a moron for stripping it in the first place, but it happened.

Also i was wondering if there is a washer that goes between the drain plug and the oil pan because that was no there when we purchased the bike but it shows it on the oem parts list. would that help to stop the leaking (making sure with new oil pan plug has washer).

For now i am not riding it because my father (i am a college student living at home for the summer) decided to try to fix the leak with silicone tape, and i don't feel like that was a smart fix because it will flake off into the oil, and after a day it started leaking again.

Thank you in advance for any advice, tips, or ridicule you can offer.

erik

Hi Erik. :welcome:

First thing to so is get a proper torque wrench. The oil plug is only about 17 ft lbs I think which isn't much at all. Mine also has no crush washer on it either.

For replacing the oil pan, do you have the service manual? If not, grab it here: Public - Windows Live

I'm not sure but believe you will have to remove the exhaust first. Afterward, the manual states how to remove the pan. Pay attention to the bolt pattern for loosening as well as tightening. Don't do this without a proper torque wrench, ok?

I am a little confused by you post. You stripped the threads in the oil pan or the drain plug? Either way if one is damaged more than likely so is the other.

Yes, there is supposed to be a washer in there to help distribute the pressure of the drain plug and seal better. Don't run w/o one again...