Need some advice, think I've made a mistake

v-petn

Hi all,

I've got a 2006 fz1n... I'm no pro so the bike feels good. the only complaint is when I've accelerate hard, the front starts to wobble..

So i thought I would adjust the suspension. I'm quite a noob and don't really understand this...

I've only adjusted the front forks so far... the screw that is located on top of the left and right fork. Are they meant to be the same settings? The screw on the left was set to 5 clicks... The screw on the right fork was set to 14 clicks... I changed them both to 20 clicks... Is this correct or have I got this wrong?

I'm light, 130 pounds... I just don't want the front to wobble when I accelerate hard... How and what settings would you recommend?

Have you checked out the basics first?

How much air is in your front tire? What is its condition (ie. Is there any cupping or lumps or waves on the surface? What about the rear?

There are lots of online resources that can help you narrow down the source of your problem.

Blindly fiddling knobs usually doesn't work, especially if you don't know what they do

The experts here should have some good ideas, too :) Good luck!

Last edited:
I discovered early on that my FZ1 handles a lot better with 42-46 PSI in my tires. When i got it they were at 35 PSI and the bike was ill handling at speed (over 100)

Seriously doubt it has to do with suspension. I would check the front tire for wear, PSI, it's probably shot, or not properly balanced. Then check steering stem bolt tightness. And make sure the Allen heads holding the forks are all tight. I bet money it's the tire though. I tried to get a little to many miles out of mine once, and it wobbled just like you described.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm on the light side too, but heavier at 150lbs. I'd get a copy of the owners manual and return the front to stock settings. Then set it softer from there - this is very plainly explained in the manual.