Help please 2001 yamaha FZS1000N

Hi, I have just bought my self a non running fz1 and it wont even crank over and I have no idea where to start really, they said it was the starter solenoid so i bought one and installed it but it still wont turn over, the engine is free i turned it by hand by putting the bike in 6th and turning the wheel, also the neutral light doesn't turn on even if the bike is in neutral, it dash is actin weird, when I turn the signals on the dash turns off for, also when I turn the headlight to high beams the dash shuts off then comes back , any help would be amazing as i'm a absolutes newb to repairing street bikes its a well used bike that has some minor damage but nothing that i can think of that would cause the bike not to turn over, also i checked the battery and it has a reasonable voltage and hot wired the starter and it turns normally, it just wont turn over with the button, any help would be amazing once again many thanks
Mel

Take off the left side front fairing cover (three fasteners) and check out the electrical connectors near the rectifier to see if any wire has pulled out or been severed. Take the windscreen off (six fasteners) and make sure the electrical connector on the back of the speedo is securely in place. Take some WD40 and spray a little bit into the ignition key hole then work key around to distribute it.

Do you need a service manual? I can PM a digital copy if you PM me.

The neutral light not working is interesting, have you tried pulling in the clutch lever while trying to start the bike? Also put bike on center stand and make sure side stand is retracted while trying this.

There are a couple of safety cut outs that prevent starting related to the side stand being down and not being in neutral.

Last edited: