Do riders make better drivers ???

I know riding has made me a much better driver compared to most.

28 years riding has turned me into a paranoid, mirror checking, non tailgating, threat detecting, madman.

I'm just as paranoid behind the wheel as I am on the bike.

Absolutely, people who only drive cars only see other cars. I drive trucks for a living and it's like you're invisible.

I think I do. At least when I'm about to change lanes in the cage, I do a head check and not just look at the mirrors.... or like MANY up this way, just don't look and expect the world to stop for YOU. :rant: I'm definitely more aware of motorcycles. :yes:

I would guess that long term motorcycle riders could statistically be shown to have fewer accidents in their cars (car miles driven compared to miles driven by non riders).

Overall, one of the largest populations of MC riders in the States are young men riding sport bikes. I would guess that they could be statistically shown to have more car accidents than average.

I think so. In the car I'm a pretty mellow driver and I'm always checking blind spots.

On the other hand I keep getting tickets on the bike. Not in town but on the back roads. More track days is the answer!

Sent from my LG-P925 using Tapatalk

I think if you apply the same techniques that you employ while riding the bike while driving the car it will make you a better driver. And by better I mean better than the teens texting, the soccer moms turning around to yell at the kids or the Sunday drivers that only look forward...

I think if you apply the same techniques that you employ while riding the bike while driving the car it will make you a better driver. And by better I mean better than the teens texting, the soccer moms turning around to yell at the kids or the Sunday drivers that only look forward...

I'm not sure all my riding techniques make me a better cage driver. ;)

knee-drag-car.jpg

But I've seen improvement in the bathroom...

knee-drag-toilet.jpg