Rear shock setting

I've been riding this bike for a couple of months. Tonight I decided to try a different setting on the rear suspension. It was set at the stock #3 click. I advanced it to the 5th click.

I'm probably a little heavier than the average FZ1 rider coming in at about 212 pounds currently. I figure I'm about 30-40 pounds heavier than an "average" rider anticipated by Mamma Yamma.

In my ride this afternoon, with the changed setting, I couldn't tell much difference in the ride. It didn't seem too hard, but I didn't stretch it out in any turns and corners.

My understanding is that the higher the notch it is set on, the better the handling, and the lower the notch the softer the ride, but that may be overly simplistic. Also notch settings are adjusted according to the load the bike is carrying, like luggage or a pillion rider.

I have a pretty good set of instructions from one of my books on how to set up the suspension and I have a friend who understands the process and has some experience who has volunteered to help me set mine up, maybe later this week.

Have I done something foolish by increasing the spring tension on my rear? I'd love to hear some comments from those of you who are familiar with the whys and wheres of setting up a suspension. My friend suggested that I may need to re-spring my bike to get it set up right, for my weight.

My weight is going down slowly due to a program of exercise and diet in an attempt to mediate the effects of diabetes. I'm hoping to stick somewhere are 190, but that could take another year.

Any comments, help or suggestions would be appreciated.

"Mamma Yamma" uses 150 for their average rider. I'm tipping @ close to 220 on a Gen I. From my limited exposure to the Gen II suspension, the rear shock is, sadly, not worth much. You can't service it to revalve for your correct weight. So if it doesn't work for you, the only option left is to go to aftermarket.