KTM question for Oldschool

returnrider

Hey Oldschool, since you are the resident ktm guy could you tell me what you think of the ktm 950 adventure? I found a pretty good deal on one and will probably try and go check it out this weekend.

2004 KTM Adventure 950

Was thinking of upgrading the gen1 but would be fun to have 2 bikes in the garage for less $ than a new aprilia/bmw?

Hope this helps

Hey Oldschool, since you are the resident ktm guy could you tell me what you think of the ktm 950 adventure? I found a pretty good deal on one and will probably try and go check it out this weekend.

2004 KTM Adventure 950

Was thinking of upgrading the gen1 but would be fun to have 2 bikes in the garage for less $ than a new aprilia/bmw?

I looked at the ad and it looks like a decent bike. Mine is a 990 FI version, and I have no experience with the Carbed ones, other than having ridden with a buddy that has one just like that. Considering all the extras, (the racks and luggage are worth a lot) It looks like a good deal. Ask about when the water pump was last done, and if the wheel or swing arm bearings have ever been changed, and if the fuel pump has been changed. Look for any oil leaks down behind the side stand, as it mounts to the engine case and have been known to cause cracks in a crash (where the side stand takes a hit), but don't mistake it for a leak from the gear position sensor "o" ring which is a $0.35 fix. If you buy it consider upgrading the bash plate to a "Weld 86" like mine and either relocated the side stand or put the reinforcement plate from Weld 86, which is what I did.

He has TKC 80s front and back in the pictures. Great tires on and off road but don't expect long life from the rear one (about 4-5000 miles) as the 950 is a powerful bike.