Good read on MC oil

Octupi

For those that like their synthetics, here's a good read.

Personally, I've been running Amsoil for 15+ years in all my bikes and cars, so at first oil change I will be changing my FZ1 over to it. I'm not promoting one over the other, but this is one informational document.

ARTICLE FOUND HERE

Yes, that was a good read. Last time I changed my oil I used the Valvoline 4-Stroke 10W40 Motorcycle oil from the local Autozone. It was only $3.99/quart so relatively inexpensive and ranked number 5...not bad in my book.

This was a great article, I'm going to try amsoil for my next two changes. While we are on the subject of oil changes when is the best time to change my oil? Should I change it before I put the bike up for the season or at the beginning of the next? That is if I don't hit the mileage necessary to change the oil, but what if it's close to that number?

I buy whatever is on sale at Cycle Gear; usually it's Castrol of one type or another. I try to say below the $4.00 mark. What I do spend a little extra on is the oil filter; I like the K&N because I can put a wrench on it, and it's pre-drilled for safety wire. :icon_beer:

I can understand that when a distributor does a study it's preatty hard to take what they say as fact. I really enjoyed this report because they used cited scientific experiments to test the different products and their product wasn't always number one. I can't say that the study wasn't a little subject but when you back up your words with lab tests it's a little hard to call them liars. Thanks Octupi it made a believer out of me, I can't wait to try the product for myself.