convince me please

picard

Hi All,
I may or may not become a newbie here depending on what I decide to do on Tuesday...

I'm in my mid 40s and have ridden all kinds of bikes over the last 30 years or so. Today I have been out shopping for a "sundays" fun bike as the touring with the wife will probably be reduced quite a bit over the next few years at least. Wow, "naked" sport bikes have come a long way (my last bike of that kind was a ZRX1100)

Long story short it comes down to a "new" zero miles '08 FZ-1 or a '04 Monster S4R with 6000 miles. Both to be had for about the same $$.

I rode both bikes twice for about 20 minutes each and came away very impressed with the FZ-1, sneaky fast, very elastic motor, smooth, but the handling wasn't perfect - tendency to fall into the corners a bit (just like my old FJ1200 used to do) and a little loose rear end on bumpy stuff.

The Monster of course with Ohlins all around was planted and nimble like, well, a bike with top-notch suspension. The engine is more brutal in response, less refined and therefore may feel a bit faster but I don't think it actually is. Coolness factor of course is 10:1 for the Duc.

The FZ-1 is the more 'resonable choice' but will I regret it?

Any input will be appreciated.

Yea, the FZ1 is lacking in the suspension dept, especially when you're comparing it to another bike that already has some nice Ohlins parts on there. Good thing is that there are plenty of aftermarket parts to make the FZ1 handle great, but of course you'll have to spend the extra money to get there. All that being said if you take the time to properly adjust the stock suspension for your weight and riding style it may not be so bad.

Only other thing that I would tell you to consider is maintenance in the long run. We both know the Ducati will be more expensive to maintain and the FZ1 is very reliable so...