attn computer guys

I have an HP pavilion DV6 laptop and it has the infamous broken hinges anybody got any experience with tearing one of these down the hinges are like 30 bucks but installing them aint cheap.I have no experience with PC disassembly.I also have my wifes DV7 which the motherboard took a dump but daughter is giving me her DV7 with bad hard drive for parts.I guess the lesson is dont buy HP products.The new laptop I just bought the wife is a toshiba.

I may try the repair on the DV7 first since that one is totally dead motherboard and the one I am getting for parts has bad hard drive which looks pretty easy to replace.my DV6 still works but one side of hnge is broken and the other side is going that is aside from the software issues it has

In the many years I have been in the IT industry I can back up your statement to avoid HP personal products, their business grade server stuff works fine, but the personal laptop and desktop stuff is crap.

In the many years I have been in the IT industry I can back up your statement to avoid HP personal products, their business grade server stuff works fine, but the personal laptop and desktop stuff is crap.

it sucks that the stuff only lasts like 2 years.the DV7 only lasted alittle over 2 years and my DV6 will be 2 this christmas if it lasts that long I have severe doubts

+a billion

on avoiding HP personal computing products. I had to take apart my friend's HP laptop to fix the fan because any weight on the laptop (such as a palm resting on the palmrest) was enough pressure to press the case against the cpu fan and bring it to a screeching, audibly annoying halt.

Another friend's dvd drive broke just outside of warranty. Another's mobo fried.

I've gotten to the point where if any of my friends ask me to fix an HP laptop I tell them the only way to fix it is get a Dell (or really any non-HP manufacturer)

If hard drive wont work, swap out with working and don't mess with it. Same machine?