Draining carbs

FSTZ1

Has anyone ever drained the carbs on an older FZ1 in preparation for winter storage? Any tips would be helpful since this is my first year owning an '03.

it's best not to drain them. This dries out the seals and gaskets and will have the bike spewing petrol all over the place when you let the gas come back. The better thing to do would be to add some Stabil to the tank and run the bike for a little while to ensure that the Stabil makes it to the carbs. After that, make sure the bike is fully topped off. Any part of the tank that's empty will be vulnerable to rust. Starting it every once in a while wouldn't be a bad idea, and a battery tender is a must. If you do this, after winter is over, you should be able to pull the bike back out, fire it up, and ride with no problems.

Warm or cold storage?

it's best not to drain them. This dries out the seals and gaskets and will have the bike spewing petrol all over the place when you let the gas come back. The better thing to do would be to add some Stabil to the tank and run the bike for a little while to ensure that the Stabil makes it to the carbs. After that, make sure the bike is fully topped off. Any part of the tank that's empty will be vulnerable to rust. Starting it every once in a while wouldn't be a bad idea, and a battery tender is a must. If you do this, after winter is over, you should be able to pull the bike back out, fire it up, and ride with no problems.