Won't go past 60

DirtyD

So today I got to ride and basically first time since the mods, no performance mods just cosmetic...and as I was riding on the bypass it is 65mph, the bike will stop speeding at 60mph and will revv the RPM's after that

The RPM's do go all the way up fast but slowly rise up and you can hear it, and the bike will creep to 61 62 etc..and I noticed in any gear when I get to 5000 its jumps to 6000rpm's and then does the revving thing...any Ideas...please nothing majorly wrong!

I called the local dealers service and told them what was going on and yup, the clutch is toast, burned up, he said it happend when I changed my levers...and the price..duh duh duh...

labor = 130
parts = 240
total = a shitload

I don't think he was calling you stupid, just prefacing a very basic question so not to be called names himself. Just my take on it I could be wrong. Sorry about your clutch at least it's early in the season.

like I said I'm no mechanic but if I was to buy a clutch kit is that hard?....

this sucks tho he said it happend when I installed my levers and thats why it felt kinda tight on the clutch..so if i was to change the plates and springs is it fixed or is the lever gonna cause the same problem

like I said I'm no mechanic but if I was to buy a clutch kit is that hard?....

this sucks tho he said it happend when I installed my levers and thats why it felt kinda tight on the clutch..so if i was to change the plates and springs is it fixed or is the lever gonna cause the same problem

You'll need to adjust the clutch freeplay. There's an adjustment at the lever end where you can turn the threaded end of the cable sheath in or out. You'll want to turn it in until the clutch friction zone has moved back to normal. :tup: Installing the clutch itself is an intermediate job so you'll want to have some knowledge of what you are doing. Or a willing forum member close by with technical experience?