Stator or Rectifier? Please Help

To start off I have an '09 FZ1. It's one hell of a bike and I'm never getting rid of it. The only electrical modifications I have done are LED front flush mounts, USB charger, and added a small strip of LED rear running lights on the rear.

Issues:
-Went to start the bike. Wouldn't crank. Purchased new battery.
-No issues for a while since I was riding it daily.
-Noticed on long trips and my phone plugged in that it would stop charging randomly then start charging again. On long enough rides my phone would eventually die (if it was low to begin with)
-Bike sat for 1.5-2 weeks due to storms rolling through.
-Went to ride, wouldn't crank. (turned out to be a trend if it sat for a week or more)
-Now it is must worse. I can jump the bike, ride for 30 min, stop for gas, and it won't start back up.

Once I am able to crank it I have absolutely no issues other than phone charging dropping out.

I am not experienced with electrical work at all. I learn how to do things as issues or new projects come up. I would like to do this myself, so if you have any input, suggestions, items to check any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Hi,
Rectifiers usually go bad before a stator does. I would check the connection between the stator and rectifier also in case it is burned out (happened to me on my VFR800 I had).
My first thought would be to change the rectifier and see if the problem goes away.
If it does not, I'd say the stator would need to be replaced as well.

Hope this helps.

Here's a helpful guide to get you started.

[video=youtube;YvRe9g_2gyM]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YvRe9g_2gyM[/video]

You should be able to test and repair everything with just a volt meter and basic tools. Good luck

Hi,
Rectifiers usually go bad before a stator does. I would check the connection between the stator and rectifier also in case it is burned out (happened to me on my VFR800 I had).