Riding the FZ1 To Its Full Capability

lol I have no knowledge of how a stock FZ1 handles the track. Mine is geared down fully Ivanized plus a R1 shock. I know have rear sets and will be changing a few more things..the most important thing is still being able to weekend ride it. if I was going to just trck only i would get a R6 or R1 but the whole point was the FZ1 can handle its own in the right hands on the track...and it can..

I had my '12 on the track with 1000 miles on it, bone stock, stock OEM tires and it did fine. But it left A LOT to be desired. Rearsets are a must if you plan on track days. You drag the stock ones a bunch, even with the feelers removed.

Great thing about the FZ1....all I do is take the mirrors off, pull light fuse, tape up the lights and I'm ready to roll at the track. I just got a spare set of wheels so that I can keep one set with track rubber and one set with street rubber.

Even though the Gen II is lighter and more nimble than the Gen 1 its still a pig in comparison to full sportbike. The weight is up high and compared to an R1 you also have 2 less pistons on the brakes and a small rotor (unless you upgraded).

The R bikes are like a surgeon's scalpel, the FZ1 is alike a machete. Not that it bad, not at all, just different. You can improve it drastically, but it will never be a "racebike"...just isn't meant to. The FZ1 gives the best of both worlds though. I can ride and the track and ride 500 mile days on the street without much or any prep work.

Last edited:
Props to you, Gamecock, for tracking your FZ. If I can't find a place with a garage (for a track bike) soon, I'll probably go your route and pick up some wheels off of ebay. I've got Michelin PP3s on right now, and they are a good compromise, but I could still use some more grip on the track and some more life on the road :)