R1 forks vs. ...

Hi guys!

Newbie here.

I have done my primary research so I know that 08 r1 as well as 04 r1 forks should fit my GenII but which one out of the two is easier and more cost effective way of converting it?

Is there anywhere a list of parts that I will need to do it?

Thx
Greg

Sent from my mobile apple command iCenter

On post 5 of this thread, I listed the parts I used.

Sent from my Nexus 5

Cheers man! And sorry for being blind..

What's the difference between 07-08 forks and 04-06 forks? What are the pros and cons of fitting either? Are the 06 R1 forks also compatible?

What is the most straight forward swap?

I'm in the UK and parts are scarce which is also an important factor.

Thanks for your help.

G.

Sent from my mobile apple command iCenter

I did the '04 forks IIRC instead of the later ones as I did want to mod for the 6 pot calipers. The 4 pots bolt right up.

I'm 175 in my birthday suit and found the R1 spring rate fine for the street.

It is a much more supple fork and the brakes 4 or 6 pot, are outstanding.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
Was the drop in fork height an issue, I’m concerned for safety that’s a big difference.

Was the drop in fork height an issue, I’m concerned for safety that’s a big difference.
Stevo, sad to say, but Doc's right.
If you read through the entire thread though, it does advise that you need an aftermarket or rear shock conversion that is adjustable, as you'll need to lift the rear to compensate for the front drop with the shorter R1 forks.

Stevo, sad to say, but Doc's right.
If you read through the entire thread though, it does advise that you need an aftermarket or rear shock conversion that is adjustable, as you'll need to lift the rear to compensate for the front drop with the shorter R1 forks.
Hey thanks for the reply! So lift the rear end and drop the front end can you tell me the science behind that lol?