Looking at a new FZ1, input please?

Good afternoon guys.

I've been riding street since 1977, small and large bikes, (as well as an 04 FJR-which was just way too "HOT" , physically).

I currently have an 07 FZ6 which I'm selling (and have some bites). I've owned it since 2009, did my share of mods, etc.

I have bar risers / set backs, open Scorps, etc (ie, don't do the lean forward on the wrist position-so risers would be on the list).

Question, as the FZ1 seems (engineering wise) very similar to my 6, what if ANY ISSUES need to be addressed?

I'm sure I'm looking at Spencers doing his seat mod (already contacted him), bar risers among other farkles
(helmet locks, power outlet, 590 GPS stem mount, etc).

The bike will be used for pleasure only, (no commuting) but would like to be able to do a LD trip(maybe 500 miles if need be).

I don't care for Power commanders(one more thing to break) but have heard a re-map helps drive-ability (does it hurt the crappy mileage?)

BTW, I have looked at other Yamaha's (Yamaha guy actually), but prefer the simplicity (and familiarity of the FZ1 with my FZ6), no ABS,
no linked brakes, etc..

Thanks, Scott

My current FZ6:

Great questions, Scott! You'll certainly find a the same spirit of your FZ6 in the FZ1 but everything will be turned up to 11, so to speak. You seem to be no stranger to modifications and I think that's where the second gen FZ1 really shines.

As far as issues, there really aren't any serious issues with these bikes although there were some 2006 model years that had trouble with the frame cracking though it seems to be quite rare. Other than that, you can find some complaints about snatchy throttle response, especially with the 06-09. As far as I'm concerned, you can buy any FZ1, new or used with confidence. As long as all maintenance is up to date, they are really well made bikes.