FZ1S 1st Ride - What to expect.

planb

I've been riding for 6 years, mostly my KLR650 (re bored to 705, 47bhp) , but I have also spent some time on a GSX650f (the non LAMs one I think they are about 85hp).

I'm intending to test ride a 2012 FZ1S this week. Does anyone have any tips for my first time on a liter bike ? (apart from 'take it easy' :cool:)

Just under 3 weeks ago I went from a Suzuki GS500 to my 2012 FZ1. I tested a few 750 to 800 cc bikes before I even thought about an FZ1 but I was still taken aback by the massive power difference.

The 1 is nice and torque-y and smooth, especially compared to the mostly twin-cylinder bikes that I'd been trying. As you say, take it easy. The first few times when you pin the throttle prepare to hang on. I now find it best to hunker down with my backside bracing me against the pillion seat which leaves your arms and wrists free to control the bike properly.

If you've been riding for 6 years then you should be fine.

They are a pussy cat under 7 K and the throttle response is muted compared to a full on litre bike.

Compared to what you have been riding, it will feel like a rocket ship but as long as you use your head and control your right wrist, you will be fine.

Last edited:
Avoid trying to test the boundaries the first 1k miles. If you wind it up past 7k suddenly, you will either end up on your back or on a rocket. Make sure you recognize proper following and stopping distances.

As banzai said, make sure you've got your body position set before you really crack it open. The first time I did it, I slammed it open after holding steady at about 8k RPM. I was sitting near bolt-upright. I had all my weight on my butt (as opposed to on the pegs), and I rocketed back and bounced up onto the pillion. My feet completely left the pegs. I think the only thing that kept me from flying off was the suction from my butthole puckering.