FZ-1 vs FZ-10 on the track

I have been riding my 2009 FZ1 on the street for 6 years, and also on the track for the last year. I had an opportunity to ride the FZ10 at the track through Yamaha demo days, which I was excited to do to see if it would be the eventual replacement for my FZ1. I'd like to see if my experience matches up with others.

On the track, the low end of the FZ-10 fly-by-wire throttle is a serious problem. You're entering a turn under braking, then start to pick up the throttle to "maintenance throttle" mid-turn. Turn the grip infinitesimally, and nothing. A little more, nothing. A little more, nothing. A little more, and it abruptly surges forward enough to unsettle the suspension and pull you off line. Letting off a hair to correct turns it back to completely off and unsettles the suspension with engine braking, then you repeat the surge and jerk as soon as you cross the magic throttle threshold again. It was so unsettled I cut my ride short by several laps because I just wasn't having fun. I had to coast through the turns completely off throttle and not pick up the throttle again until I was starting to stand the bike up again and it was safe to take that power surge. I didn't play with the settings, and I believe it was in the more aggressive power delivery mode, but there was basically no such thing as maintenance throttle. After reading about the fuel cut elimination sagas and computer tuning options on this forum, I had been led to believe my FZ1 was perhaps a bit abrupt when first coming back on the throttle, but riding it back to back with the FZ10, my FZ1 felt butter smooth in comparison, and I've done none of the FCE stuff or tuning to it (almost completely stock).