First Ride

Motorcyclist Magazine had a good series of articles in this month's issue. It's all about what got the writers into riding called "Roots". There was one article by famous or semi-famous motorcyclists including Lyle Lovett, about their first motorcycle. That got me thinking about my first bike. The year after I graduated high school I bought a 1984 Honda XL 185. It was a dual purpose bike. It was probably way under powered but for my first bike it couldn't have been better. I always thought it looked like an Elsinore. I used to ride it to the local off road recreation area. I'd spend all day hill climbing and trail riding then ride back home. I think the fastest I ever had it was 85 mph (down hill) but that's back when the speed limit was 55 so I used to take long rides around Ohio on it too. I had an old no name brand dirt bike helmet and Scott googles. I eventually sold it when I went into the Air Force. There were a lot of great days spent riding along the Muskingum River and the hills of southeastern Ohio.

What was your first bike?

My first ride was an '88 FZR1000. Probably not the best bike to buy as your first bike, but it taught me to respect liter bikes :D Did a lot of riding on that bike. When you're young sport bikes don't seem all that uncomfortable...lol

scan.jpg

Mine was Yamaha Pee Wee 50. It was white with a Red stripe and I had a "Champion" Spark plugs sticker on the front that I loved... 30 years later I'm riding a Yamaha FZ1-N which is white with a red stripe! :)

My first bike was an '80 Yamaha XS650 Special II. I bought it for $600 in the early 90's from a guy who was keeping it at his work cuz he didn't want to tell his wife he had it. Great starter bike with an engine guard (for the inevitable first drop). The only problem I had with it was the vibration; any ride longer than twenty minutes or so would put my right foot to sleep.