Engine Rotor - Why has Yamaha not issued a recall?

I have a friend who just sold a 2007 R1 and sure enough with 20 miles the rotor let go. Thankfully the new owner shut the bike down immediately so all the shit was stuck to the stator. He's replacing the stator, rotor, rectifier and multiple oil changes.
20230614_134456.jpg

such a massive blunder by yamaha. they have been designing those for decades, and they just thought, yeah a bit of glue will be fine. and then they charge an arm and a leg for the official part.

I have a friend who just sold a 2007 R1 and sure enough with 20 miles the rotor let go. Thankfully the new owner shut the bike down immediately so all the shit was stuck to the stator. He's replacing the stator, rotor, rectifier and multiple oil changes.
View attachment 27904

So very lucky! What a mess and, yeah, Yamaha should be held responsible for such a poor design. It's literally shrapnel just waiting to come unglued!

I work in manufacturing, and I can tell you why Yamaha won't do anything about it. I'm not saying they're right, but just why. Couple of reasons. First and most importantly, the company sees little danger to the user. Secondly, it happens outside of the warranty period.