Chain Questions

First off, how do I know if I need a new one?

Secondly, how long does the stock chain *normally* last?

I am no expert, but...

When you are at the last few marks on your chain adjuster your chain has stretched (worn) to near its usefull life. I also find that sprockets are showing signs of serious wear about this time as well.

As Old School said a chain wear gauge is the best way to know. Another way is to look for hooking of you sprockets. Instead of the tooth looking even, it will look uneven from the wear on the pulling side of the tooth, where the chain contacts.

How long they last depends on how well you take care of it; clean, lube, adjust. Rule of thumb, a slightly looser chain is better than a too tight one. And lube it frequently.

View attachment 2573

Another check is to grab the chain at the midway point on the rear sprocket and pull away from sprocket. If you can pull it more than 1/4 to 3/8 of an inch is is getting worn. Also good to replace sprockets at the time you replace chain or the hooks on worn sprockets will wear your new chain much faster. +1 on lube often

Last edited:
I expect my chain to last 20 to 25000km. I have recently replaced already my front sprocket at 11000km, as recommended by my dealer (reasoning is because the frontsprocket rotates 3X more than the rear) I will evaluate if this was worthwhile doing. (the cost was not that excessive)

Liftime of your chain can be prolongued by regular maintenance (cleaning/greasing/adjusting on time) and ofcourse your riding style will have an impact on the wear of your chain.

In addition mentioned by OneSize, the state of your sprocketteeth are also an indicator, i.e. when they become having the shape like sharkfins, time to replace.
And indeed, replacing a chain includes (recommended) to replace at the same time your both sprockets....

Last edited: