2011 East Coast Gather

If you had a few months notice (mid Oct?) who thinks they would really, no BS, come to a FZ ride in Eastern Tn/ Deals Gap/ Smokies ride? Fri-Sun, twisites during the day and BBQ and beers in the evening.

I have a connection on a motel in Gatlinburg and would be down for making Tshirts and routes, but not if its just me, myself, and I :teeter:

What yee say FZ1ers?

I used to orginaze all of our 4wd rides and 15 would say yes, 10 would back out, and 2 would bring extra people at the last minute, so it usually worked out :D

Bikes don't sling parts everywhere nearly as much as rock crawlers do and that was always and issue for those guys sneaking in a local ride the weekend before the big one we all took off work for :nothing:

Gotta have t-shirts made too! It's a TachedOut ride requirement :D

Last edited:
How far are you from columbia SC? I am a professor so I can get Fridays off. However, our budget is tight. How much u think it will cost? I eat and ride but not a big beer fan. I think once the questions are answered I have a really good chance. But not on Halloween, my anniversary.

Amevl introduced me to the Iron Horse campground. I think its Like 15.00 or 20.00 beans a night and offers great facilities. it offers a great 10 mi warm up run to the Dragon on 28.

How far are you from columbia SC? I am a professor so I can get Fridays off. However, our budget is tight. How much u think it will cost? I eat and ride but not a big beer fan. I think once the questions are answered I have a really good chance. But not on Halloween, my anniversary.

I'm 8 hours East if you in I20, but Eastern , TN is more like 4 from you and it would be an awesome ride through the mtns!

$60 Fuel cost for 600 miles
$40-100 lodging
$40-100 mcDs or steaks for the grill
$12. :D t-shirt

I'm not scared to camp and I think it makes for great evening festivities.
If there is a diehard hotel group, they can stay close by.