Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default New Product for the Gen2

Hi guys - Over the past few months, I've been working on a new product for the Gen2 FZ1, and I'm getting very close to being ready to launching it. Even before having a Gen2, I never liked the options available for mirror block off plates on the Gen2. They all were compromises based on time, ability or cost. I wanted to change that...So when I picked up my own '09 at the end of last season, I figured this would be a good project that would intersect two areas of my life I feel passionate about: 3d design, and FZ's.

I'm an engineer by day...I design custom plastic packaging for consumer goods using Solidworks. Because of work...I've got some fun toys to play with AT work. Before Christmas this year, I brought in a spare fairing for a new-to-me Gen2, and scanned it into 3d. From there I designed up my first prototype. I ordered a print online, and basically let it sit over winter. The garage gold cold in northern Illinois, and I didn't do anything with the project.

In mid-February, I got a chance to travel for work, and ended up at Solidworks World 2019, in Dallas Texas. Basically a nerd convention for 6 thousand plus solidworks users. There, I got to talk to some people in industry, and that spurred an interest in getting this project going again. A few weeks later, after waiting for a 'friend of a friend' to finish up a 3d print of versions 2 and 3 of my block off plugs....I got those parts and immediately worked all night to make version 4. I probably put 10 or so hours on v.4.....and now I have THOSE parts in hand. Overall I'm incredibly happy with what I've got so far....but I'd like to modify one more surface before I release anything, possibly to sell.

I've been getting my online prints from Shapeways.com and have used this site for previous projects, including my own turn signal adapter plates for my gen1 FZ.