Problems after being parked for 8 months

In November 2012 I was hit by a large truck and broke my hip in three places. Fast forward through a lot of pain, surgery and rehab and I have been walking for the last three months, so of course I want to ride my 2002 FZ1. Last night I attempted to do that, with what appears to be disastrous results.

I expected the damned Chinese battery to be dead and it did not disappoint me, even after a 2 hour charge, it would not take a charge, it was 9 days out of date...

I did get the bike to crank without a lot of fuss and it settled into a idle after 2 minutes of choke. So I lube the chain and top off the fuel. I have lived in the inner city hellhole of Atlanta for several years and wanted to move it to its new garage home out in the GA countryside where I could ride it regularly.

Sooo, I figured that I would just be careful not to stall it out, which should not be too difficult as it was now warm, and ride it out there and order a new battery for it. I got suited and rode away and this is when the problems started.

As I pulled away the bike would not pull under load, one second it would make power, and then it would fail. Also the low fuel, overheating and one other light (Don't know which one) would flash on and off intermittently as if there was suddenly a short. Again, this only happened under load! The power was very intermittent and I was afraid that it would hook up at the wrong time and dump me, so I turned it around and rode it back the 300 yards to where it has been garaged. It was a handful and a lot of clutch work to get it there!

As I pulled into the shed suddenly the coolant overflow hose came flipping up and cooked my right wrist with steam. It had suddenly overheated!

So, I am wondering what happened to my bike and if it is dead for good! Any ideas?